Get Weesper Neon Flow
Weesper Neon Flow installs like any desktop app, so no terminal is needed. Download the installer for your system from the official site; the speech models are fetched inside the app.
Platform | Get It |
|---|---|
| Mac | Download for Mac — .dmg, macOS 13 or newer, Apple Silicon or Intel with AVX2 |
| Windows | Download for Windows — .msi, Windows 10 build 19041 or newer or Windows 11, x64 with AVX2 |
| Free trial (15 days) | Start the trial — all features, no credit card |
| Release notes | Changelog and GitHub Releases |
| Website | weesperneonflow.ai |
| Privacy policy | Weesper Neon Flow privacy policy |
| Source code | Closed source; the GitHub repository hosts release installers only |
The download page lists macOS and Windows only; no Linux, iOS or Android build is offered.
Weesper Neon Flow at a Glance
Attribute | Weesper Neon Flow |
|---|---|
| Platform | macOS 13+ and Windows 10/11 |
| Price | 15-day trial, then 5 EUR/month, 45 EUR/year or 99 EUR once |
| License | Proprietary, closed source |
| Runs | On your computer with Whisper (whisper.cpp); internet for downloads and license checks |
| Languages | 50+ with automatic detection (the download page says 55+) |
| Speaker labels | Yes, in Meeting mode (changelog 1.7.5) |
| Real-time transcription | Not stated; text is inserted when you release the shortcut |
| Usable on CPU only | Not stated; a modern multi-core CPU is the recommended baseline |
| Local API server | Not stated |
Attributes follow the speech-to-text comparison used in the Local LLM Software Directory. A missing statement on the site means unknown, not unsupported.
What Weesper Neon Flow Is
Weesper Neon Flow is a push-to-talk dictation app, not a transcription editor. You hold a keyboard shortcut, speak, and release; the app runs Whisper on the computer and inserts cleaned-up text at the cursor, for example in Gmail, Slack, Notion or Word.
The maker is THE BLUE HOUSE (SASU), based in Paris, and the About page says the product was founded in 2024. It also sells a separate product, Weesper Transcribe, for audio and video files; this review covers only the dictation app.
This review draws on the website, changelog, privacy policy, terms and the GitHub release page. It involved no hands-on testing, so accuracy, speed and stability are not rated here.
How to Get Started
Setup is an install, a model download and a shortcut. The steps follow the website and its changelog.
- 1Install the app
Why it matters: Download the .dmg for Mac or the .msi for Windows from the [download page](https://weesperneonflow.ai/en/download/) and start the 15-day trial; no credit card is needed. - 2Pick a speech profile
Why it matters: The default Small profile is 512 MB. The changelog says dictation works on a bundled model while the recommended one downloads. - 3Hold, speak, release
Why it matters: Click into any text field, hold the dictation shortcut, speak, and let go. A press-to-toggle mode was added in version 1.7.6. - 4Tune the output
Why it matters: Add words to the custom dictionary, set text shortcuts, and try the contextual and custom prompts the site lists.
Features
The feature set centres on fast, private dictation into any app. Everything below comes from the website and changelog.
- Dictation anywhere. Text is inserted at the cursor in any app that accepts typing.
- Clean-up. Automatic removal of filler words, plus smart punctuation and capitalization.
- Languages. More than 50 languages with automatic detection, and speaking in one language to get text in another.
- Meeting mode. Speaker diarization was added in version 1.7.5.
- Personalization. A custom dictionary, text shortcuts, contextual prompts, custom prompts and a dictation history.
- Microphone standby. Since version 1.7.10 the app no longer keeps the microphone open between dictations.
Models and Hardware
The app runs Whisper through whisper.cpp, with four speech profiles. The FAQ and changelog name Minimal (about 75 MB), Small (512 MB, the default), Medium (1.5 GB) and Large (3.2 GB), plus a Precision profile that was formerly called Turbo.
The download page lists a minimum of 4 GB RAM and 8 GB or more as recommended. On the Mac, an Apple Silicon M1 or newer with Metal is recommended; on Windows, a modern multi-core CPU or a supported Vulkan GPU. Both platforms need a processor with AVX2. The FAQ cites about 600 MB of disk space with the Small model. No speed or accuracy figures were reproduced here.
Privacy, License and Cost
The privacy policy says speech recognition runs locally and that audio, transcripts, dictated text and clipboard contents are not sent to Weesper servers for transcription. The policy was last updated on 23 July 2026. The terms add that the application operates 100% locally.
The internet is still involved elsewhere: downloads of the app and speech models, license activation and checks through a licensing service hosted on Cloudflare, billing through Stripe, update metadata from GitHub, and optional product analytics (PostHog) and crash diagnostics (Sentry). The policy says analytics events do not include audio, transcripts or dictated text. The code is closed and PromptQuorum did not examine network traffic, so these statements are the maker's own.
It is a paid, proprietary product: a 15-day free trial, then 5 EUR a month, 45 EUR a year or 99 EUR once, with a 7-day money-back guarantee. A personal license covers up to three of your own computers. The site does not say clearly whether prices include VAT, so check at checkout. The free plan after the trial is described two ways: 1,500 words a week in the FAQ and short clips of up to 60 seconds in the changelog.
Trade-Offs: Benefits vs. Limitations
Whisper on your computer
- What it means in real use:
- Dictation is processed on the machine, with no audio upload for transcription.
- Limitation / caveat:
- Closed source, so the claim cannot be checked; internet is still used for licensing and downloads.
Dictate into any app
- What it means in real use:
- One shortcut works in email, chat, notes and documents.
- Limitation / caveat:
- Mac and Windows only; no Linux, iPhone or Android version.
Lifetime option
- What it means in real use:
- A 99 EUR one-time purchase avoids a subscription.
- Limitation / caveat:
- Monthly and annual plans are the default; a free plan after the trial is described inconsistently.
Four speech profiles
- What it means in real use:
- Small and light models for older machines, larger ones for accuracy.
- Limitation / caveat:
- Large needs 3.2 GB of disk and more RAM; no speed figures are published.
Meeting mode with speakers
- What it means in real use:
- Speaker diarization is documented in the changelog.
- Limitation / caveat:
- Not tested here; the site gives no accuracy details.
Active development
- What it means in real use:
- Version 1.8.12 shipped on 28 October 2026.
- Limitation / caveat:
- Some pages, such as About, still carry older wording.
Weesper Neon Flow vs. Alternatives
These are the closest dictation tools in the directory: a free open-source app for three desktop systems, a Mac transcription app with dictation, a free Mac-only dictation app and a hybrid open-source app.
Weesper Neon Flow
- Platforms:
- Mac, Windows
- Price and license:
- Trial, then 5 EUR/month or 99 EUR once, proprietary
- Role:
- Push-to-talk dictation
- Key difference:
- Whisper on the device; paid and closed source
Handy
- Platforms:
- Mac, Windows, Linux
- Price and license:
- Free, MIT
- Role:
- Push-to-talk dictation
- Key difference:
- Open source and free; adds Linux
Articles about Handy (2)
- Handy Review: Free Offline Speech-to-Text Dictation AppUpdated October 24, 2026
- Parrot Review: Free Offline Text-to-Speech That Reads Selected Text AloudUpdated October 18, 2026
Also mentioned in:
- LobeChat vs Big-AGI vs NextChat vs Page Assist vs Chatbox: 2026 ComparisonUpdated November 6, 2026
- Facet Review: Local Photo Scoring, Culling and GalleryUpdated November 6, 2026
- Swerve Review: AI Story and Character Chat for iPhoneUpdated November 6, 2026
- Trilium Notes Review: Free Hierarchical Notes With Optional AIUpdated November 3, 2026
- Hillnote Review: Local-First Markdown Notes With On-Device AIUpdated November 1, 2026
- Home Generative Agent Review: AI Agent for Home AssistantUpdated November 1, 2026
- Kai 9000 Review: Free Open-Source AI Assistant, Cloud or On-DeviceUpdated October 30, 2026
+9 more not shown
MacWhisper
- Platforms:
- macOS
- Price and license:
- Freemium, proprietary
- Role:
- Mac transcription app
- Key difference:
- Built for files and meetings first; Mac only
Articles about MacWhisper (2)
- MacWhisper Review: Local Speech-to-Text for MacUpdated October 3, 2026
- Meetily Review: Local, Privacy-First AI Meeting NotesUpdated September 18, 2026
Also mentioned in:
- AquaVoice Review: Pricing, Privacy and AI Prompt DictationUpdated November 2, 2026
- Local Voice & Speech Tools Compared (2026): Text-to-Speech, Speech-to-Text and Voice AgentsUpdated September 20, 2026
- FunClip Review: Self-Hosted AI Video Clipping With FunASRUpdated September 19, 2026
- Willow Inference Server Review: Self-Hosted Whisper ASR and TTSUpdated September 19, 2026
FluidVoice
- Platforms:
- Mac
- Price and license:
- Free, GPL-3.0
- Role:
- Mac dictation app
- Key difference:
- Free and open source; Mac only
Articles about FluidVoice (1)
- FluidVoice Review: Free Open-Source Mac Dictation AppUpdated October 24, 2026
OpenWhispr
- Platforms:
- Mac, Windows, Linux, iOS
- Price and license:
- Freemium, MIT
- Role:
- Dictation with local or cloud modes
- Key difference:
- You choose local models, your own API key or its cloud
Articles about OpenWhispr (1)
- OpenWhispr Review: Open-Source Dictation and Meeting Notes AppUpdated October 24, 2026
Platform, price, and feature details for third-party apps change frequently. Verify current specifics on each project's own page before deciding.
Who Should Use Weesper Neon Flow
- Writers and office workers on Mac or Windows. One shortcut dictates into email, chat and documents.
- People who avoid cloud dictation. Speech recognition stays on the computer, per the maker.
- Multilingual users. More than 50 languages with automatic detection.
- Buyers who prefer paying once. A 99 EUR lifetime license exists next to the subscriptions.
Who Should Not Use Weesper Neon Flow
- Linux, iPhone and Android users. Only Mac and Windows builds are offered.
- Anyone who needs auditable software. The code is closed and the privacy claims cannot be inspected.
- Anyone who wants fully free software. Beyond the trial and a limited free plan, use is paid; Handy is free and open source.
- Anyone who must work with no internet at all. Licensing and model downloads need a connection.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Weesper Neon Flow work offline?
The maker says dictation works 100% offline once the app and a speech model are installed. The internet is needed to download them, to activate the trial or license and for occasional license checks. The About page says no connection is required, which conflicts with this. PromptQuorum did not test it offline.
Is my voice sent to the cloud?
The privacy policy says audio, transcripts, dictated text and clipboard contents are not sent to Weesper servers for transcription. The code is closed and PromptQuorum did not inspect network traffic.
How much does it cost?
After a 15-day free trial, 5 EUR a month, 45 EUR a year or 99 EUR once, with a 7-day money-back guarantee. Check at checkout whether VAT is included.
Which models does it use?
OpenAI Whisper through whisper.cpp, in four speech profiles from Minimal (about 75 MB) to Large (3.2 GB).
Who makes Weesper Neon Flow?
THE BLUE HOUSE (SASU), a company based in Paris, France.
Verdict
Weesper Neon Flow is a good fit if you want push-to-talk dictation on a Mac or Windows PC where, per the maker, Whisper runs on your own computer, and you accept paying for closed-source software. It has a free 15-day trial, a lifetime option and a recent release.
The caveats are scope and verifiability: no Linux or mobile version, closed code, privacy claims that PromptQuorum could not check, and maker pages that disagree on the free plan and on needing internet. Use the trial before you buy.
Sources
- Weesper Neon Flow website — features, pricing and FAQ.
- Download page — platforms and system requirements.
- Changelog — version history and feature additions.
- Privacy policy — data handling, last updated 23 July 2026.
- Terms of use — operator and local-operation statement.
- GitHub Releases — installer assets and release date of version 1.8.12.
