What Is Blackbox AI CLI?
Blackbox AI CLI is a terminal-based coding agent product from Blackbox AI Technologies Inc., described on its own product page as "an open-source AI coding agent for your terminal." It is a separate product from Blackbox's more widely known VS Code/JetBrains extensions and web chat app.
- Product type: a terminal-based, autonomous coding agent with a plan mode, task execution, and direct code changes
- Company: Blackbox AI Technologies Inc., headquartered in San Francisco, per the company's own team/press page
- Founders: Robert Rizk (Co-founder & CEO), Richard Rizk (Co-founder & CTO), and Roger Rizk (Co-founder & COO), per blackbox.ai/team
- Founding year: not stated on Blackbox's own team/press page; third-party sources mention 2019, but this review could not confirm that from a primary source
- Platforms: macOS, Linux, Windows (native and via WSL), plus Docker and CI integrations (GitHub Actions, GitLab CI), per Blackbox's own documentation
What Does Blackbox AI CLI Actually Do?
Blackbox AI CLI runs autonomous coding tasks from your terminal, with a distinctive multi-agent mode that sends the same task to several different AI coding tools at once for comparison.
- Plan mode: proposes a step-by-step plan for review before executing changes, per Blackbox's own documentation
- Multi-agent dispatch: a
/multi-agentcommand sends the same task to Blackbox, Claude Code, Codex, and Gemini simultaneously, each working in its own git worktree, per Blackbox's own documentation - Non-interactive/headless mode: for use in CI pipelines
- Convention detection: reads project conventions via an
AGENTS.mdfile, plugins, hooks, and MCP servers, per its own documentation - Built-in web search: automatically triggers for tasks requiring real-time information, per its own documentation
- Model access: Blackbox's own marketing claims access to "400+ models" (including Claude Opus, GPT, Gemini, Qwen, GLM, Grok, DeepSeek, Llama, Kimi, and Mistral) routed through its own platform — this is Blackbox's own aggregation claim, not independently verified benchmark data
What This Review Could Not Confirm
Several commonly repeated claims about Blackbox AI CLI could not be verified from a primary source during this review's research, and in some cases appear to be fabricated by AI-generated search summaries.
- License: Blackbox's own CLI FAQ states "Yes. Blackbox CLI is fully open source, with the code available on GitHub," but names no specific license and does not link to a repository. A claim that it uses the "GPL-3.0" license, found during research, could not be traced to any real source and appears to be a fabricated search-summary artifact — do not repeat it as fact
- Official repository: a search result named a specific repository URL as Blackbox's official GitHub source; directly checking that URL returned a 404 (does not exist). A different, seemingly unrelated repository with a matching description was found but does not clearly identify itself as Blackbox's canonical, official source
- Consumer pricing: Blackbox's own pricing page (blackbox.ai/pricing) showed only enterprise, custom, per-token committed-spend pricing when directly checked for this review, with no visible consumer Free/Pro tier. Some third-party coverage describes a separate consumer tier structure with specific monthly prices, but this review could not independently confirm those figures on Blackbox's own site as fetched — do not treat any specific consumer price you see elsewhere as confirmed
- npm package: a specific npm package name for the CLI was confirmed to exist and be published (with a real, checkable version number), but a different package name repeated by some secondary sources does not exist — verify the exact, current package name directly before installing via npm rather than the official shell-script installer
- Funding and valuation: third-party trackers report a total raised in the tens of millions of dollars, with some sources speculating a valuation in the billions — these figures conflict with each other significantly and none could be traced to an official Blackbox press release stating an exact amount, date, or investor list
Platform, Pricing, and Licensing
Platform
- What this review found:
- macOS, Linux, Windows (native and via WSL), Docker, and CI integrations, per Blackbox's own documentation.
Consumer pricing
- What this review found:
- Not confirmed. Blackbox's own pricing page showed only enterprise, custom, per-token pricing at the time of checking — no consumer tier was visible on that page. Verify directly on blackbox.ai/pricing before assuming any specific consumer price.
Enterprise pricing
- What this review found:
- Custom, per-token, committed-annual-spend pricing with volume discounts, per blackbox.ai/pricing as directly checked.
Licensing
- What this review found:
- Blackbox's own CLI FAQ claims "fully open source" but names no specific license or repository this review could verify. Treat the license as unconfirmed rather than assuming a specific one (such as GPL-3.0).
Given the number of unconfirmed facts in this table, verify current pricing and licensing directly with Blackbox before making any decision — especially a commercial or budget decision — that depends on them.
Install Blackbox AI CLI
Blackbox AI CLI installs via a shell script, per its own official getting-started documentation.
Source | Link |
|---|---|
| Official CLI product page | blackbox.ai/cli |
| Getting-started documentation | docs.blackbox.ai/features/blackbox-cli/getting-started |
| Install (macOS/Linux) | curl -fsSL https://blackbox.ai/install.sh | bash |
| Install (Windows PowerShell) | iex (irm https://blackbox.ai/install.ps1) |
Blackbox's own getting-started documentation shows only the shell-script install method, not an npm command — review any install script directly before piping it to a shell, as with any curl-to-bash installer.
Who Should Use Blackbox AI CLI?
Blackbox AI CLI can suit developers curious about its multi-agent comparison feature, provided they independently verify pricing and licensing before committing.
Consider it if you
- Are curious about dispatching the same coding task to multiple different AI agents (Blackbox, Claude Code, Codex, Gemini) at once for comparison
- Are comfortable verifying current pricing directly with Blackbox's sales team before committing, given this review could not confirm consumer pricing from the company's own site
- Do not need a confirmed open-source license before adopting the tool
- Are already an enterprise customer or evaluating an enterprise, per-token pricing arrangement
Look elsewhere if you
- Need confirmed, transparent consumer pricing before trying a tool — this review could not verify Blackbox's consumer tier pricing from a primary source
- Need a confirmed, specific open-source license before adopting or auditing a tool's code — Blackbox's "fully open source" claim names no specific license or verifiable repository
- Have seen negative billing-related complaints about Blackbox AI's other products (see "Not Good For" below) and want to avoid that risk
- Want a well-documented funding/company history before trusting a vendor with long-term reliance — this review found only conflicting third-party estimates
What Blackbox AI CLI Is Not Good For
Blackbox AI CLI is not a good fit if you need confirmed, transparent pricing or license terms before committing, or if you have concerns about the company's billing practices on its other products.
- Not confirmed to have transparent, published consumer pricing — this review could not verify a consumer tier from Blackbox's own pricing page
- Not confirmed to have a specific, verifiable open-source license — treat the "fully open source" claim as unconfirmed rather than a specific license guarantee
- Not free of documented billing-related complaints on Blackbox's other products — public reviews on Trustpilot describe recurring complaints, as of this review's check, about billing after cancellation and free trials converting to paid charges; this review did not verify whether these complaints relate specifically to the CLI product versus Blackbox's other offerings, or how representative they are of the platform's overall rating
- Not independently benchmarked by this review — Blackbox's "400+ models" and performance claims are the company's own marketing framing, not independently verified data
- Not a good fit if you require certainty about company funding, valuation, or long-term financial stability before adopting a vendor — this review found only conflicting, unconfirmed third-party estimates
Common Mistakes When Evaluating Blackbox AI CLI
Most confusion about Blackbox AI CLI comes from unreliable secondary sources and AI-generated search summaries that this review found to be inaccurate or unverifiable.
Mistake 1: Assuming the CLI uses the GPL-3.0 license
This specific claim could not be traced to any real, checkable source during this review's research and appears to be a fabricated search-summary artifact. Blackbox's own FAQ claims "fully open source" without naming a license.
Mistake 2: Installing via a specific npm package name found in a search summary
One npm package name referenced in secondary sources does not exist; a different package name was confirmed to exist and be published. Verify the exact, current package name directly, or use Blackbox's own official shell-script installer instead.
Mistake 3: Assuming Blackbox's consumer pricing matches a specific tier list you saw online
Third-party review sites describe consumer tiers this review could not confirm from Blackbox's own pricing page, which showed only enterprise pricing when checked. Verify current pricing directly with Blackbox before budgeting.
Mistake 4: Confusing Blackbox AI CLI with Blackbox's VS Code extension or web chat
Blackbox AI CLI is a separate, terminal-based product from the company's more widely known VS Code/JetBrains extensions and web chat app — features and pricing may differ between them.
Competitors and Alternatives
Blackbox AI CLI is most often compared to GitHub Copilot CLI, Aider, and Cursor — with its own claimed differentiation being multi-model routing and simultaneous multi-agent comparison in one command.
Tool | Best known for | Link |
|---|---|---|
| GitHub Copilot CLI | GitHub's own terminal AI command assistant | github.com/features/copilot |
| Aider | Terminal-native, git-centric AI pair programmer with clear, verifiable open-source licensing (Apache 2.0) | Aider review |
| Cursor | Commercial, standalone AI-first code editor with published consumer pricing | Cursor review |
| OpenHands | Free, open-source (MIT, verified), self-hosted autonomous coding agent platform | OpenHands review |
This list reflects tools commonly compared to Blackbox AI CLI, not an independent PromptQuorum ranking — all four alternatives listed here have more clearly verifiable licensing and pricing than this review could confirm for Blackbox AI CLI.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Blackbox AI actually have a CLI product?
Yes, a real, documented terminal coding agent exists at blackbox.ai/cli, with its own getting-started documentation and install script, distinct from Blackbox's VS Code extension and web chat app.
How much does Blackbox AI CLI cost?
This review could not confirm consumer pricing from Blackbox's own site — its pricing page showed only enterprise, custom, per-token pricing when checked. Verify current pricing directly with Blackbox before budgeting.
Is Blackbox AI CLI open source?
Blackbox's own CLI FAQ claims it is "fully open source," but names no specific license and provides no link to a public repository this review could verify. Treat the license as unconfirmed.
How do I install Blackbox AI CLI?
Via a shell script: curl -fsSL https://blackbox.ai/install.sh | bash on macOS/Linux, or iex (irm https://blackbox.ai/install.ps1) on Windows PowerShell, per Blackbox's own official documentation.
What is the multi-agent feature in Blackbox AI CLI?
A /multi-agent command that dispatches the same coding task to Blackbox, Claude Code, Codex, and Gemini simultaneously, each in its own git worktree, per Blackbox's own documentation.
Who founded Blackbox AI?
Robert Rizk (CEO), Richard Rizk (CTO), and Roger Rizk (COO), per the company's own team page. The founding year is not stated there, and this review could not confirm one from a primary source.
How much funding has Blackbox AI raised?
This review could not confirm an exact figure from an official Blackbox source. Third-party trackers report conflicting estimates in the tens of millions of dollars, with some speculating a much higher valuation — treat any specific figure as unconfirmed.
Are there complaints about Blackbox AI?
Public reviews on Trustpilot show recurring complaints, as of this review's check, about billing after cancellation and free trials converting to paid charges. This review did not verify whether these complaints specifically relate to the CLI product or to Blackbox's other offerings, or how representative they are of the platform's overall rating.
Does Blackbox AI CLI support local models?
This review found no confirmation of local/self-hosted model support in Blackbox's own documentation — its model access claims center on cloud-routed models via its own platform.
Has PromptQuorum independently tested Blackbox AI CLI's claims?
This review is based on Blackbox's own site and documentation, direct verification checks of specific claims, and Trustpilot, rather than hands-on benchmarking by PromptQuorum. Several commonly repeated claims about this product could not be confirmed and are flagged accordingly.
