Skip to main content
PromptQuorum
Home/Power Local LLM/Local Coding Assistants, Agents & Workflow Tools Compared (2026): IDE Plugins, Agent Frameworks and Autonomous Agents
Coding Assistants

Local Coding Assistants, Agents & Workflow Tools Compared (2026): IDE Plugins, Agent Frameworks and Autonomous Agents

·12 min read·By Hans Kuepper · Founder of PromptQuorum, multi-model AI dispatch tool · PromptQuorum

The 62 local coding and agent tools in the PromptQuorum directory split into four kinds that should be compared separately: coding assistants and IDE plugins (20 tools), agent frameworks and SDKs (27), autonomous agents (17) and workflow builders (7). Among coding assistants, 6 document a VS Code extension and 10 an agent mode; among agent frameworks, 14 document MCP support; among workflow builders, 6 of 7 document a visual editor. Use the comparison table below, and read each tool's own review before you install it.

Tools that use local language models for coding and automation are four different kinds of product — coding assistants and IDE plugins, agent frameworks and SDKs, autonomous agents, and visual workflow builders — and no single feature list compares them fairly. This guide compares 62 free and paid tools, one kind at a time, using a comparison table generated from the same data as each tool's own PromptQuorum review, so the table and the reviews cannot disagree.

This page contains links to third-party products for reference. PromptQuorum is not enrolled in any affiliate program — these are plain links that earn no commission. Clicking links and your next steps are entirely your own responsibility. These links do not represent any endorsement or verification by PromptQuorum.

Key Takeaways

  • 62 tools, four kinds: coding assistants and IDE plugins (20), agent frameworks and SDKs (27), autonomous agents (17) and workflow builders (7). A tool that does more than one job, such as Cline or Dify, appears in each kind it belongs to.
  • The table is generated from each tool's record and checked against its official README or site; a dash means "not stated in the documentation", never "no".
  • GitHub marks the Flowise, TaskWeaver and GPT-Engineer repositories as archived (read-only) at the time of writing, and Continue's own README says its repository is read-only; check their reviews before you build on them.
  • Every tool name in the table links to its own PromptQuorum review, which is where installation steps and limits are covered.

📍 In One Sentence

Local coding and agent tools are four different kinds of product — coding assistants, agent frameworks, autonomous agents and workflow builders — so the 62 tools in the PromptQuorum directory are compared within each kind, using a table generated from the same tool data as each tool's own review.

💬 In Plain Terms

Some tools help you write code inside your editor, some are toolkits for building your own AI agents, some are agents that work on their own, and some let you wire up automations visually. Comparing an editor plugin with an agent toolkit on the same features makes no sense, so this guide compares like with like.

How We Compared

Each tool's facts — price, license, platforms, hardware needs and category-specific attributes — are stored once, in that tool's directory record. The comparison table below is generated from those records, and the tool's own review draws on the same record, so the two cannot state different values.

Category-specific attributes (for example MCP support or a VS Code extension) were taken from each project's official README or website and checked against the exact wording there. Where the documentation is silent, the table shows a dash rather than guessing; where a claim is qualified (roadmap only, a paid tier, an enterprise edition, or a separate package), the attribute is left out of the table and covered in the tool's review instead.

Only tools with their own PromptQuorum review are in the table. The comparison does not rank the tools, because the right one depends on your constraint.

Comparison Table

Choose a kind of tool below, then read across a row. Click a tool name to open its full PromptQuorum review.

ToolPriceLicensePlatformsRunsHardwareVersionWorks with local LLMsConnects to OllamaVS Code extensionJetBrains pluginAgent mode (multi-step edits)Inline code completionMCP supportReviewproduct link · disclosed
AiderFreeApache-2.0macOS, Windows, LinuxHybridCPU is enoughYesRead reviewAider
Blackbox AI (CLI)FreemiumApache-2.0macOS, Windows, LinuxHybridCPU is enoughYesYesRead reviewBlackbox AI (CLI)
Bodega One CodeFreeProprietarymacOS, Windows, LinuxHybridYesYesYesRead reviewBodega One Code
ClineFreeApache-2.0macOS, Windows, LinuxHybridYesYesYesYesYesYesRead reviewCline
CodeGPTFreemiumMITmacOS, Windows, LinuxHybridYesYesYesYesYesYesRead reviewCodeGPT
Continue.devFreeApache-2.0macOS, Windows, LinuxHybridYesYesRead reviewContinue.dev
Cursor (local mode)FreemiumProprietarymacOS, Windows, LinuxHybridYesYesRead reviewCursor (local mode)
GitHub Copilot CLIFreemiumProprietarymacOS, Windows, LinuxHybridYesYesRead reviewGitHub Copilot CLI
GPT EngineerFreeMITmacOS, Windows, LinuxHybridv0.3.1YesRead reviewGPT Engineer
Kilo CodeFreemiumMITmacOS, Windows, LinuxHybridYesYesYesYesYesYesRead reviewKilo Code
little-coderFreeApache-2.0macOS, Windows, LinuxHybridVaries by modelv1.20.0YesYesYesRead reviewlittle-coder
OpenCodeFreemiumMITmacOS, Windows, LinuxHybridYesYesRead reviewOpenCode
OpenHandsFreeMITmacOS, Windows, LinuxHybridCPU is enoughv1.20.0Read reviewOpenHands
PearAIFreeApache-2.0macOS, Windows, LinuxHybridRead reviewPearAI
ShellGPTFreeMITmacOS, Windows, LinuxHybridYesRead reviewShellGPT
Sourcegraph CodyFreemiumApache-2.0macOS, Windows, LinuxHybridRead reviewSourcegraph Cody
TabbyFreeApache-2.0macOS, Windows, LinuxLocal8 GB VRAMYesYesYesYesRead reviewTabby
TwinnyFreeMITmacOS, Windows, LinuxLocalYesYesYesYesRead reviewTwinny
WindsurfFreemiumProprietarymacOS, Windows, LinuxHybridYesYesYesYesRead reviewWindsurf
ZedFreemiumGPL-3.0 (editor) / AGPL-3.0 (server) / Apache-2.0 (GPUI) …macOS, Windows, LinuxHybridYesYesYesRead reviewZed

"—" means the project's own documentation does not state it, not that the feature is missing. Values come from each project's official README or site and are re-checked when a tool's review is updated.

Coding Assistants: What Differs

Agent Frameworks and SDKs: What Differs

Autonomous Agents: What Differs

Workflow Builders: What Differs

What This Comparison Cannot Tell You

  • It compares documented capabilities, not quality. It says nothing about how good the generated code is, how reliable an agent is, or how fast a model runs on your hardware — PromptQuorum has not measured these for the listed tools.
  • Dashes are gaps in the documentation we checked, not negative findings. Some tools may support a feature their README does not mention.
  • Project status matters: GitHub marks the Flowise, TaskWeaver and GPT-Engineer repositories as archived (read-only) at the time of writing, and Continue's own README says its repository is read-only, which means no further development there. Check each tool's review before choosing it for a new project.
  • Tools change quickly. Each tool's review states the version it was checked against, and this guide is refreshed when a review is.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the difference between a coding assistant, an agent framework and an autonomous agent?

A coding assistant works inside your editor or terminal to help you write code. An agent framework or SDK is a developer toolkit for building your own AI agents. An autonomous agent is a ready-made agent that works on tasks on its own. A workflow builder connects steps and services, often visually. They do different jobs, so they are compared separately.

What does a dash in the comparison table mean?

It means the project's own documentation does not state that attribute. It does not mean the feature is missing; check the tool's review or its repository.

Why does a tool appear in more than one table?

Some tools do more than one job — for example a coding assistant that is also an agent framework — so they are listed under each kind they belong to, with the attributes that apply to that kind.

Do any of these tools have an affiliate link?

No. PromptQuorum has no affiliate relationship with any tool in this comparison at the time of writing, and no link here earns a commission.

How often is this comparison updated?

It is refreshed twice a year and whenever one of the listed tools' reviews is updated, because the table is generated from the same data as those reviews.

Sources

  • Each tool's official README or website, listed in that tool's PromptQuorum review (linked from the comparison table).
  • PromptQuorum local AI app directory — the record each row of the table is generated from.
  • GitHub repository status (archived or active) for each listed project, checked when this guide was written.

← Back to Power Local LLM