Skip to main content
PromptQuorumBuilt for humans. Structured for AI.
Home/Power Local LLM
Easiest Desktop Apps

Local Chat Apps & Assistants Compared (2026): Desktop, Mobile, Self-Hosted, Assistants and Roleplay

·12 min readBy Hans Kuepper · Founder of PromptQuorum · Discovery engine for open-weight & open-source AI

The 129 local chat apps and assistants in the PromptQuorum directory split into five kinds that should be compared separately: desktop chat apps (35), mobile chat apps (63), web and CLI chat clients (16), personal assistants (29) and roleplay and companion apps (11). Among desktop apps, 7 document MCP support and 9 document Ollama; among phone apps, 15 document fully offline use; among web clients, 8 document Docker deployment. Use the comparison table below, and read each tool's own review before you install it.

Key Takeaways

  • 129 tools, five kinds: desktop chat apps (35), mobile chat apps (63), web and CLI chat clients (16), personal assistants (29) and roleplay and companion apps (11). A tool available on several devices, such as Enchanted, appears in each kind it belongs to.
  • The table is generated from each tool's record and checked against its official README or site; a dash means "not stated in the documentation", never "no". Phone apps are documented mostly by store listings, so their cells are the sparsest.
  • Every tool name in the table links to its own PromptQuorum review, which is where installation steps and limits are covered.

📍 In One Sentence

Local chat apps are five different kinds of product — desktop apps, phone apps, self-hosted web interfaces, personal assistants and roleplay tools — so the 129 tools in the PromptQuorum directory are compared within each kind, using a table generated from the same tool data as each tool's own review.

💬 In Plain Terms

Some apps you install on a computer, some on a phone, some you host yourself and open in a browser, some act as an assistant that does things for you, and some are built for character roleplay. Comparing a phone app with a server-side web interface on the same features makes no sense, so this guide compares like with like.

Chat apps that run language models on your own hardware are not one product category: a desktop app, a phone app, a self-hosted web interface, a personal assistant and a roleplay tool solve different problems, and no single feature list compares them fairly. This guide compares 129 free and paid tools, one kind at a time, using a comparison table generated from the same data as each tool's own PromptQuorum review, so the table and the reviews cannot disagree.

This page contains links to third-party products for reference. PromptQuorum is not enrolled in any affiliate program — these are plain links that earn no commission. Clicking links and your next steps are entirely your own responsibility. These links do not represent any endorsement or verification by PromptQuorum.

How We Compared

Each tool's facts — price, license, platforms, hardware needs and category-specific attributes — are stored once, in that tool's directory record. The comparison table below is generated from those records, and the tool's own review draws on the same record, so the two cannot state different values.

Category-specific attributes (for example MCP support or offline use) were taken from each project's official README or website and checked against the exact wording there. Where the documentation is silent, the table shows a dash rather than guessing; where a claim is qualified (roadmap only, a paid tier, or a requirement such as a separate server), the attribute is left out of the table and covered in the tool's review instead.

Only tools with their own PromptQuorum review are in the table. For a few apps (AI On Device, Chatty Mini and LocalAI ApexCreator) the directory has no official page to check, so their cells are dashes. The comparison does not rank the tools, because the right one depends on your constraint.

Comparison Table

Choose a kind of tool below, then read across a row. Click a tool name to open its full PromptQuorum review.

ToolPriceLicensePlatformsRunsHardwareVersionRuns models itselfConnects to OllamaOpenAI-compatible endpointsMCP supportChat with your filesVoice input / outputReviewproduct link · disclosed
AnythingLLMFreeMITmacOS, Windows, Linux, WebHybridCPU is enough—YesYesYesYesYesYesRead review →AnythingLLM
Arynwood MCPFreeSource-available (Arynwood MCP Source-Available License) …Linux, WindowsLocalVaries by model0.5.3NoYesYesYesYes—Read review →Arynwood MCP
BoBeFreeOpen sourcemacOSLocalVaries by model———————Read review →BoBe
BoltAIFreemiumProprietarymacOSHybridVaries by model——Yes—YesYesYesRead review →BoltAI
Cherry StudioFreeAGPL-3.0macOS, Windows, LinuxHybrid———Yes—Yes——Read review →Cherry Studio
Cloak: Local AIPaidProprietaryiOS, macOSLocal—1.2.9Yes—————Read review →Cloak: Local AI
CogniraFreemiumProprietaryWindows, macOS, Linux, WebHybrid———————NoRead review →Cognira
EkorbiaFreeMITmacOS, Windows, LinuxLocalVaries by model—YesYesYes—YesYesRead review →Ekorbia
EnchantedFreeApache-2.0macOS, iOSLocal—v1.8.2NoYes———YesRead review →Enchanted
Enclave AIFreemiumProprietaryiOS, macOSHybrid—1.77.0—————YesRead review →Enclave AI
EnsuFreeAGPL-3.0iOS, Android, macOS, Windows, LinuxLocalVaries by model0.1.22Yes———YesYesRead review →Ensu
FriedrichAIPaidProprietary (closed source)WindowsLocalVaries by model1.0Yes———YesYesRead review →FriedrichAI
GPT4AllFreeMITmacOS, Windows, LinuxLocalCPU is enoughv3.10.0Yes———Yes—Read review →GPT4All
GreenCubePaidProprietaryWindowsLocalVaries by model0.1.49Yes———Yes—Read review →GreenCube
HanokiFreemiumMITmacOSHybrid———YesYes———Read review →Hanoki
Haplo AIPaidProprietaryiOS, macOSLocalVaries by model2.5Yes—————Read review →Haplo AI
HilbertRaumFreeGPL-3.0-or-laterWindows, macOS, LinuxLocalCPU is enough0.1.61Yes———YesYesRead review →HilbertRaum
IIMAGINE DesktopFreeMITmacOS, Windows, LinuxHybridVaries by model0.1.2Yes——YesYesYesRead review →IIMAGINE Desktop
JanFreeApache 2.0 (variant)macOS, Windows, LinuxLocalCPU is enough—Yes——Yes——Read review →Jan
Kai 9000FreeApache-2.0Android, iOS, ipados, macOS, Windows, Linux, WebHybridVaries by model3.3.0YesYesYesYes——Read review →Kai 9000
LlamatikFreeMITAndroid, iOS, macOS, Windows, Linux, WebLocalVaries by model1.9.0——————Read review →Llamatik
LM StudioFreeProprietary (free for personal and business use) …macOS, Windows, LinuxLocalVaries by model—Yes————YesRead review →LM Studio
LobeHubFreemiumLobeHub Community License (Apache 2.0-based) …macOS, Windows, Linux, WebHybridCPU is enough2.2.20———Yes——Read review →LobeHub
Locally UncensoredFreemiumAGPL-3.0Windows, Linux, macOSLocalVaries by model3.0.2—Yes—YesYes—Read review →Locally Uncensored
Loci AIFreeProprietaryiOS, Android, macOS, WindowsLocal—1.3.31——————Read review →Loci AI
MstyFreemiumProprietarymacOS, Windows, LinuxHybrid————————Read review →Msty
OdysseusFreeAGPL-3.0macOS, Windows, LinuxHybridVaries by model————Yes——Read review →Odysseus
Off Grid AIFreemiumMITiOS, Android, macOS, WindowsLocalVaries by model—YesYes——YesYesRead review →Off Grid AI
On Device AIFreemiumProprietaryiOS, macOSLocalCPU is enough—YesYes——YesYesRead review →On Device AI
OpenClientFreeAGPL-3.0iOS, macOSHybridVaries by model1.7.30NoYesYesYes—YesRead review →OpenClient
OsaurusFreeMITmacOSLocalVaries by model—YesYes—YesYesYesRead review →Osaurus
SidekickFreeMITmacOSLocalVaries by model—Yes—Yes—Yes—Read review →Sidekick
SpiritBox UltimatePaidProprietary (commercial licence)WindowsLocalVaries by modelv1.12 R6—————YesRead review →SpiritBox Ultimate
TinaFreemiumProprietaryiOS, macOSLocalVaries by model1.3.8YesYes———YesRead review →Tina
Zero1LLMFreemiumNot statedmacOS, WindowsHybridVaries by model0.1.10Yes———YesYesRead review →Zero1LLM

"—" means the project's own documentation does not state it, not that the feature is missing. Values come from each project's official README or site and are re-checked when a tool's review is updated.

Desktop Chat Apps: What Differs

Mobile Chat Apps: What Differs

Web and CLI Clients: What Differs

Personal Assistants: What Differs

Roleplay and Companions: What Differs

  • Lorebooks. Agnai, Backyard AI and RisuAI document lorebook or world-info support.
  • Group chats. Agnai and RisuAI document group chats.
  • Coverage. Only four tools are in this group, and several roleplay features (such as character cards) are described in ways that differ between projects, so they are covered in each tool's review and not in the table.

What This Comparison Cannot Tell You

  • It compares documented capabilities, not quality. It says nothing about how good the answers are, how fast a model runs on your device, or how polished the interface is — PromptQuorum has not measured these for the listed tools.
  • Dashes are gaps in the documentation we checked, not negative findings. Some tools may support a feature their README or store listing does not mention.
  • Phone apps change often and are described mainly by their store listings, so check the current listing and the tool's review before you install.
  • Tools change quickly. Each tool's review states the version it was checked against, and this guide is refreshed when a review is.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why are desktop, mobile and self-hosted chat apps compared separately?

They are different products with different constraints: a phone app runs small models on the device, a desktop app can run larger ones, and a self-hosted web interface is a server you run for yourself or a team. Most attributes only make sense within one kind, so comparing them in one table would leave most cells empty or meaningless.

What does a dash in the comparison table mean?

It means the project's own documentation does not state that attribute. It does not mean the feature is missing; check the tool's review or its repository.

Why does a tool appear in more than one table?

Some tools are available on more than one kind of device — for example a desktop and a phone version — so they are listed under each kind they belong to, with the attributes that apply to that kind.

Do any of these tools have an affiliate link?

No. PromptQuorum has no affiliate relationship with any tool in this comparison at the time of writing, and no link here earns a commission.

How often is this comparison updated?

It is refreshed twice a year and whenever one of the listed tools' reviews is updated, because the table is generated from the same data as those reviews.

Sources

  • Each tool's official README, website or store listing, listed in that tool's PromptQuorum review (linked from the comparison table).
  • PromptQuorum local AI app directory — the record each row of the table is generated from.

← Back to Power Local LLM

MCP