Get Aiko
Aiko installs like any Apple app, so no terminal is needed. One App Store purchase covers every platform, and a free trial runs through TestFlight.
Platform | Get It |
|---|---|
| iPhone and iPad | Aiko on the App Store — $24 once (US store) |
| Mac | Aiko on the App Store — the same purchase |
| Free trial (14 days) | TestFlight trial — the full app, no automatic charge |
| Older free builds | Free builds 1.10.1, 1.8.2, 1.5.3 for macOS 15, 14, 13; no updates |
| Website | sindresorhus.com/aiko |
| Privacy policy | Aiko privacy policy |
| Source code | No repository is linked |
The website states no minimum macOS version for the current build; the App Store listing shows 26.0 as the minimum OS. The site lists macOS, iOS and visionOS only, with no Windows or Android version.
Aiko at a Glance
Attribute | Aiko |
|---|---|
| Platform | Mac, iPhone, iPad, visionOS |
| Price | $24 once, all platforms |
| License | Proprietary, no source repository |
| Runs | On the device; no upload |
| Languages | About 100 |
| Real-time transcription | No; no live transcription while recording |
| Speaker labels | No; no speaker detection yet |
| Usable on CPU only | Not stated |
| Local API server | Not stated; Shortcuts actions instead |
Attributes follow the speech-to-text comparison used in the Local LLM Software Directory. A missing statement on the site means unknown, not unsupported.
What Aiko Is
Aiko is a native transcription app, not a cloud service. The website says it runs OpenAI's Whisper model locally, and the App Store description credits Whisper and whisper.cpp for making the app possible. The FAQ says it is built with Swift and SwiftUI.
It transcribes audio and video files and recordings, translates speech to English, and exports text, JSON, CSV or SRT subtitles. Sindre Sorhus has sold it since March 2023. The site quotes a Lifehacker article that praises its speed, a quote the developer chose.
This review draws on the website, privacy policy and App Store listing. It involved no hands-on testing, so accuracy, speed and stability are not rated here.
How to Get Started
Setup is an install, a settings check and a recording. The steps follow the website FAQ and the App Store listing.
- 1Install Aiko
Why it matters: Buy it on the [App Store](https://apps.apple.com/app/id1672085276), or start the free 14-day [TestFlight trial](https://testflight.apple.com/join/P1qnhHCC) and buy afterwards. - 2Check the settings
Why it matters: Set the language or leave detection on. If the text repeats itself, the FAQ suggests "Skip silent parts" and "Reduce repetitions". - 3Add audio
Why it matters: Record in the app, import audio or video files, or share a file to Aiko. Sharing from Voice Memos on iOS 26 is broken by a system bug, and the FAQ links a shortcut as a workaround. - 4Wait, then export
Why it matters: Keep the iPhone app open while it transcribes, then copy the text or export it as text, JSON, CSV or subtitles.
Features
The feature set centres on accurate, private transcription of recordings. Everything below comes from the website and App Store listing.
- Accuracy first. The listing says Aiko favors accuracy over speed.
- Translation. Speech can be translated to English, as a separate run from the original-language transcript.
- Export. Text, JSON, CSV and SRT subtitles, plus a word-replacement list that fixes common mistakes automatically.
- Shortcuts. Batch transcription, a Finder Quick Action on the Mac, and recording from the iPhone Action Button or the macOS menu bar, using shortcuts the developer links.
- Housekeeping. Optional auto-delete of recordings older than 7 days; recordings are kept in an "Aiko" folder in Files.
- Whisper controls. "Skip silent parts", "Reduce repetitions" and a "Prompt" setting help with Whisper habits such as repeated sentences or missing punctuation.
Models and Hardware
The Mac app uses Whisper large v2; the iPhone app uses the medium or small model, depending on available memory. The developer says Whisper large v3 was worse than v2 in too many cases, so he reverted it, and that no iPhone is powerful enough for the large model.
The site gives no RAM figure and no minimum macOS version, and says available memory affects speed. The App Store listing shows 1.83 GB and 26.0 as the minimum OS. Its FAQ admits transcription can be slow because the app favors accuracy, while the Lifehacker quote on the site reports half an hour of audio in a few minutes. Neither was reproduced here.
Privacy, License and Cost
The privacy policy says: "No data or personal information is collected by this app." The website adds that audio is transcribed on the device and never uploaded. The policy is two sentences, carries no date and says nothing about analytics, crash reports or network access.
The code is not open, so these statements cannot be inspected, and this review did not examine network traffic. The site also suggests pasting text into ChatGPT to add paragraphs or punctuation; that is your own choice and falls outside the promise.
It is a paid, proprietary product: $24 once in the US App Store for all platforms. The site and listing describe no subscription, and the 14-day trial is free.
Trade-Offs: Benefits vs. Limitations
On-device Whisper
- What it means in real use:
- Recordings are transcribed without an upload.
- Limitation / caveat:
- Closed source, so the claim cannot be checked.
One-time price
- What it means in real use:
- One purchase covers Mac, iPhone and more.
- Limitation / caveat:
- The free trial runs through TestFlight, not the App Store.
About 100 languages
- What it means in real use:
- Many languages, plus translation to English.
- Limitation / caveat:
- Quality varies by language, and mixed-language audio is unreliable.
Shortcuts and Finder actions
- What it means in real use:
- Batch jobs and one-tap recording are possible.
- Limitation / caveat:
- There is no built-in batch mode and no URL scheme.
Accuracy first
- What it means in real use:
- The developer prefers quality over speed.
- Limitation / caveat:
- Transcription can be slow, and the iPhone app must stay open.
Focused workflow
- What it means in real use:
- Import, transcribe, export.
- Limitation / caveat:
- No live transcription, speaker labels or in-app editing.
Aiko vs. Alternatives
These are the closest speech-to-text tools in the directory: a Mac-only rival, an iPhone-and-Mac app with speaker labels, and a free open-source desktop app.
Aiko
- Platforms:
- Mac, iPhone, iPad, visionOS
- Price and license:
- $24 once, proprietary
- Role:
- Whisper transcription app
- Key difference:
- Whisper large v2 on the Mac; no speaker labels
MacWhisper
- Platforms:
- macOS
- Price and license:
- Freemium, proprietary
- Role:
- Mac transcription app
- Key difference:
- Adds speaker recognition and dictation in Pro; Mac only
Articles about MacWhisper (2)
- MacWhisper Review: Local Speech-to-Text for MacUpdated October 3, 2026
- Meetily Review: Local, Privacy-First AI Meeting NotesUpdated September 18, 2026
Also mentioned in:
- AquaVoice Review: Voice Dictation for AI PromptsUpdated October 3, 2026
- Local Voice & Speech Tools Compared (2026): Text-to-Speech, Speech-to-Text and Voice AgentsUpdated September 20, 2026
- FunClip Review: Self-Hosted AI Video Clipping With FunASRUpdated September 19, 2026
- Willow Inference Server Review: Self-Hosted Whisper ASR and TTSUpdated September 19, 2026
Whisper Notes
- Platforms:
- iPhone, iPad, Mac
- Price and license:
- $7.99 once, proprietary
- Role:
- Offline transcription app
- Key difference:
- Adds speaker labels and costs less
Articles about Whisper Notes (1)
- Whisper Notes Review: Offline Speech-to-Text for iPhone, iPad and MacUpdated October 18, 2026
Buzz Captions
- Platforms:
- Windows, macOS, Linux
- Price and license:
- Free, MIT
- Role:
- Open-source desktop app
- Key difference:
- Open source; desktop only
Platform, price, and feature details for third-party apps change frequently. Verify current specifics on each project's own page before deciding.
Who Should Use Aiko
- Apple users who transcribe recordings. Interviews, lectures and voice memos that must not be uploaded suit an on-device app.
- Subscription-averse buyers. A single purchase replaces monthly transcription fees.
- People who work in many languages. About 100 languages and translation to English.
- Shortcuts users. Batch jobs and one-tap recording work through the linked shortcuts.
Who Should Not Use Aiko
- Anyone who needs live captions. Aiko does not transcribe while you record.
- Teams that need speaker names. The app has no speaker detection.
- Windows and Android users. The site lists only macOS, iOS and visionOS.
- iPhones that cannot run iOS 26. The current version requires it.
- Anyone who relies on frequent fixes. The newest update is over three months old.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Aiko work offline?
The site says transcription runs on the device and audio is never uploaded, so it should work without a connection. This review did not test it in airplane mode.
Can I edit the transcript in Aiko?
No. The developer does not plan to add editing; export the text and edit it in another app.
Can it transcribe a Zoom call or a YouTube video?
Not directly. The FAQ says to record the call and import the file, and to download a video's audio with a separate tool first.
Is there a free version?
Not on the App Store, but the full app has a free 14-day TestFlight trial. Older builds for macOS 13 to 15 are free but no longer updated and will not run on newer macOS versions.
Who makes Aiko?
Sindre Sorhus, who is named as the App Store seller and publishes the app on his own website.
Verdict
Aiko is a good fit if you want accurate, private transcription of recordings on an Apple device for a single payment: it installs like any app, runs Whisper on the device and offers a free 14-day trial.
The caveats are maintenance and scope: no update for more than three months, closed source with a two-sentence privacy policy, no live transcription, no speaker labels and no editing. Use the trial before you buy and check that it runs on your system.
Sources
- Aiko website — features, trial, FAQ, older versions and supported languages.
- Aiko privacy policy — data handling statement.
- Aiko on the App Store — price, version, release date, size and description.
- Lifehacker on Aiko — the press quote shown on the website.
