What Is KernelAI?
KernelAI is a general chat app that turns a phone into a local model runner: you pick open-weight models from a catalog, download them once and talk to them offline. The 53 models come from 15 labs, among them Qwen, Meta, Google, Microsoft, DeepSeek, Mistral AI and NVIDIA, and are tagged by use such as coding, vision, thinking, multilingual or small size.
The App Store lists the app as "KernelAI - Offline AI Chat" from the seller Anes Khadiri, and the website presents it under the name KernelAI. It is a general assistant, not a character or companion app.
Get It
KernelAI is a normal store download for iPhone, iPad and Android; the sources mention no terminal and no account.
Item | Details |
|---|---|
| Platforms | iPhone, iPad and Android |
| App Store | KernelAI - Offline AI Chat |
| Google Play | KernelAI on Google Play |
| Price | Free; optional tips unlock no features |
| Website | kernelai.app |
| Privacy policy | KernelAI privacy policy |
| License | Closed source; no repository found |
Version reviewed: 2.2.0 on iOS, released on 15 October 2026 per the App Store listing; the first release was on 17 January 2026. Google Play shows an update on 15 October 2026, but its version number could not be read. The store title differs by country, for example "KernelAI - Offline-KI-Chat" in Germany and "KernelAI - オフラインAIチャット" in Japan.
Requirements
The sources require iOS or iPadOS 16.4 or later, or Android 7.0 or later, plus room for every model you download.
Item | What the sources say |
|---|---|
| Operating system | iOS or iPadOS 16.4 or later; Android 7.0 or later (per the website) |
| App size | About 90 MB on iOS before any model download |
| Model storage | 112 MB to 3.11 GB per model |
| Memory | No RAM figure published; the app disables models the device cannot run |
| Age rating | 17+ on the US App Store listing |
The sources name no list of supported phones, so which devices can run the larger downloads is not stated.
How to Get Started
The steps follow the website and the store descriptions; PromptQuorum has not run them.
- 1Install the app
Why it matters: Download KernelAI from the App Store or Google Play. - 2Download a model
Why it matters: Browse the catalog by provider, use case or size and download one over Wi-Fi; models your device cannot run are disabled. - 3Chat or attach files
Why it matters: Ask questions, or attach documents, photos, screenshots or charts and ask about them. - 4Tune the model
Why it matters: Set a system prompt and generation parameters per model and watch tokens per second and context use. - 5Add your own files
Why it matters: Optionally import a GGUF model or switch on web search with your own API key. - 6Automate it
Why it matters: On iOS, call the Ask KernelAI and Extract Text from Document actions from Shortcuts or Siri.
Features Confirmed by the Sources
Every item below comes from the website or the App Store description.
- Models. 53 catalog models filterable by provider, use case (coding, vision, thinking, large context, roleplay, web search) and size.
- Documents and vision. PDF, DOCX, CSV, Markdown and text files, plus photos, screenshots and charts with a compatible vision model.
- Voice. Dictation uses the iPhone's own on-device speech recognition, and replies can be read aloud with the system voices.
- Control. A system prompt and generation parameters per model, tokens per second, context use and the thinking output of reasoning models.
- Organization. Folders, history search, chat branching, message editing and regeneration, export, a Share Sheet entry and a Home Screen widget on iOS.
- Own models. GGUF files can be imported from Files, a URL or a server on your own network and are marked experimental.
Data Flow
Per the privacy policy (updated 16 August 2026), chats, prompts, attached files, images and transcriptions stay on the device, and the developer says it does not upload them to a server of its own. Models are downloaded from Hugging Face, which, per the policy, sees connection data such as your IP address but not your chats.
According to the policy, web search is off by default; when you turn it on with your own Tavily or Exa key, a short model-generated query goes to that provider, and the key is kept in secure device storage. Source icons load directly from the websites, which then see your IP address. In the production app, limited diagnostics go to Sentry: error type, stack trace, app version, device model, OS version, locale, memory status and sampled performance timings, with IP-based location disabled and prompts, conversations and attachments not intentionally included. The policy says this data is not used for advertising or behavioral analytics.
📌Note: These are the developer's own statements; PromptQuorum has not audited the app's network traffic or confirmed that nothing else leaves the device.
Who Should Use It
- Phone owners who want free offline chat with a large catalog of open models and no account.
- People who want to question their own PDFs, Word files or photos without the conversation going to a developer server, per the policy.
- Tinkerers on iOS who want to import their own GGUF files or build Shortcuts automations.
What We Could Not Verify
- Hands-on quality. PromptQuorum did not run the app, so answer quality, speed, battery use and which phones can run which models are not assessed.
- Android parity. The sources describe iOS features such as Siri, Shortcuts, the widget and on-device dictation; which of them exist on Android is not stated.
- Independent checks. The app has no source code and no third-party review of its network traffic.
- Licensing limits. The terms (updated 5 January 2026) grant a personal, non-commercial licence and say each model stays under its creator's own licence, so business use needs a separate check.
Competitors and Alternatives
Locally AI
- Platforms:
- iPhone, iPad, Mac
- Price / license:
- Free / closed source
- Key difference:
- Runs open models on Apple devices through MLX; no Android version
Articles about Locally AI (5)
- Locally AI Review: Private Offline LLMs on iPhone, iPad and MacUpdated September 4, 2026
- Best Local AI Apps for iPhone in 2026 (Run LLMs Without WiFi)Updated October 25, 2026
- Run a Local LLM on Your Tablet: iPad Pro M5, Galaxy Tab S10, OnePlus Pad 2 (2026)Updated October 23, 2026
- Oscilla Review: Free On-Device AI Chat for iPhoneUpdated October 4, 2026
- Local Chat Apps & Assistants Compared (2026): Desktop, Mobile, Self-Hosted, Assistants and RoleplayUpdated September 20, 2026
Also mentioned in:
- LocalMindAI Review: On-Device AI Companion for iPhoneUpdated October 24, 2026
- Private LLM Review: On-Device AI Chat for iPhone, iPad, and MacUpdated October 23, 2026
- Tina Review: iPhone Client for Ollama, llama.cpp and ComfyUIUpdated October 4, 2026
PocketPal AI
- Platforms:
- iOS, Android
- Price / license:
- Free / MIT
- Key difference:
- Open-source client with a public repository on both phone platforms
Articles about PocketPal AI (10)
- PocketPal AI Review: Free, Open-Source On-Device ChatUpdated September 5, 2026
- Best Local LLM Apps for Android in 2026: 6 Apps Compared on Real PhonesUpdated October 25, 2026
- Best Local AI Apps for iPhone in 2026 (Run LLMs Without WiFi)Updated October 25, 2026
- Loci AI Review (2026): Offline AI for iPhone, Android, iPad, Mac and WindowsUpdated October 23, 2026
- Private LLM Review: On-Device AI Chat for iPhone, iPad, and MacUpdated October 23, 2026
- Run a Local LLM on Your Tablet: iPad Pro M5, Galaxy Tab S10, OnePlus Pad 2 (2026)Updated October 23, 2026
- Best Mobile LLM Models for Phones in 2026: Phi-4 Mini vs Gemma 3 vs SmolLMUpdated October 19, 2026
- Local AI Chat Pocket Review: Offline LLM and Image Chat for iPhone and iPadUpdated October 6, 2026
- PAIOS Review: Offline Gemini Nano Chat for AndroidUpdated October 5, 2026
- Oscilla Review: Free On-Device AI Chat for iPhoneUpdated October 4, 2026
+37 more not shown
Private LLM
- Platforms:
- iPhone, iPad, Mac
- Price / license:
- Paid / closed source
- Key difference:
- Paid app for Apple devices instead of a free one
Articles about Private LLM (10)
- Private LLM Review: On-Device AI Chat for iPhone, iPad, and MacUpdated October 23, 2026
- Best Local AI Apps for iPhone in 2026 (Run LLMs Without WiFi)Updated October 25, 2026
- Loci AI Review (2026): Offline AI for iPhone, Android, iPad, Mac and WindowsUpdated October 23, 2026
- Local Chat Apps & Assistants Compared (2026): Desktop, Mobile, Self-Hosted, Assistants and RoleplayUpdated September 20, 2026
- AI on Device Review: A $4.99 Apple Intelligence-Only AppUpdated September 12, 2026
- Google AI Edge Gallery Review: Gemma 4 On-Device Chat for iPhoneUpdated September 12, 2026
- Liquid Apollo Review: On-Device LFM2 Chat, Plus Optional CloudUpdated September 12, 2026
- Noema Review: Multi-Format Local AI for iPhone, iPad, and MacUpdated September 12, 2026
- Off Grid AI Review: Cross-Platform Local AI for iOS, Android, macOS, and WindowsUpdated September 12, 2026
- Pocket AI Review: Offline On-Device AI Chat for iPhoneUpdated September 11, 2026
+12 more not shown
Off Grid AI
- Platforms:
- iOS, Android, macOS, Windows
- Price / license:
- Freemium / MIT
- Key difference:
- Open-source and also available on desktop
Articles about Off Grid AI (2)
- Off Grid AI Review: Cross-Platform Local AI for iOS, Android, macOS, and WindowsUpdated September 12, 2026
- Local Chat Apps & Assistants Compared (2026): Desktop, Mobile, Self-Hosted, Assistants and RoleplayUpdated September 20, 2026
Also mentioned in:
- PAIOS Review: Offline Gemini Nano Chat for AndroidUpdated October 5, 2026
Competitor details change often; confirm each app's current price, license and platforms on its own listing.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which languages does the app support?
The App Store release notes name ten app languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Russian, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, Traditional Chinese and Arabic, the last with a right-to-left interface. The website's language menu also lists Simplified Chinese and Hindi, which the store text does not name.
Can it use Apple's built-in model?
The App Store description says that on supported iOS 26 devices Apple's built-in on-device model can answer in the background, while downloaded models may open KernelAI while they run.
Does web search cost money?
KernelAI adds no charge, but you must supply your own Tavily or Exa key, and the App Store description notes that provider fees may apply.
What happens to my data if I delete the app?
The policy says conversations and models live in app storage, deleting the app removes what it kept, and the developer holds no server-side copy to delete.
Verdict
KernelAI is a free, account-free chat app that, by its developer's account, runs 53 open models entirely on iPhone, iPad and Android phones, with documents, vision and Shortcuts on top. Against that, it is closed source, comes from a single publisher, grants only a personal, non-commercial licence, and PromptQuorum could not check its quality, its Android feature set or its network behavior. It suits curious users who want a large model catalog without an account; readers who want open source can compare PocketPal AI, and those who want a Mac version can look at Locally AI.
Sources
- kernelai.app — home page, model catalog and FAQ, checked 24 October 2026.
- KernelAI privacy policy — data handling, network use and diagnostics, updated 16 August 2026.
- KernelAI terms and conditions — licence and model terms, updated 5 January 2026.
- KernelAI on the App Store — description, version 2.2.0 and release notes, checked 24 October 2026.
- KernelAI on Google Play — listing and update date, checked 24 October 2026.
