What Is CompactifAI APP?
CompactifAI APP is Multiverse Computing's mobile chat app for trying the company's own models. The store text says it brings the maker's portfolio of models "together in one streamlined and intuitive interface" so users can compare them and choose one per task. The App Store shows the seller as MULTIVERSE COMPUTING SL. and the title "CompactifAI".
CompactifAI is also the name of the company's model-compression technology and of its separate cloud API; the app is a third product that lists models available on that API.
Where Your Chats Run
CompactifAI APP is hybrid, not purely local: according to the maker, where a chat runs depends on which model you use.
- On the phone (maker statements). The website says the models are "optimized to run locally on your device — even without an internet connection", and the March 2026 announcement says users can download models and work fully offline. A November 2025 blog post from the maker describes an on-device Llama 3.1 8B Slim model in a demo. No list of the on-device models in version 2.10 was found.
- In the cloud. The announcement says users can switch to cloud models through the API, and the version 2.10 store text says the app gives access to Multiverse Computing's models "through our API", naming Quasar 438B and GLM 5.3. Requests to those models go to the maker's API.
- Routing. The announcement describes "smart query routing" between on-device and API models. The 2.10 store text speaks of choosing among models and does not say whether automatic routing still exists.
Get It
Platform | Where to get it |
|---|---|
| iPhone and iPad | App Store (free download, iOS or iPadOS 16.4 or later) |
| Android | Google Play (free download, 5K+ downloads) |
| Website | CompactifAI APP page (links both stores) |
| Privacy policy | Privacy policy (general policy, no date shown) |
Version reviewed: 2.10.4 on Google Play, last updated on 11 September 2026; the App Store shows 2.10.0, released on 8 September 2026. A lookup by app ID found the App Store listing in the US, German, French, Spanish, Japanese, Korean, Brazilian, UK, Canadian, Australian and Indian storefronts, but not in the Saudi or Chinese ones. The maker's site tells readers to contact it if the app is not available in their region.
Pricing
The app is a free download on both stores, and no subscription, paid tier or in-app purchase was found in the sources checked.
The listings do not say what, if anything, using the API-hosted models costs.
Features Listed by the Maker
Everything below comes from the store text, release notes and announcements; none of it was tested.
- Model access. One interface for the maker's models. Version 2.10.0 added Quasar 438B, which the maker calls its flagship reasoning model, and GLM 5.3, and now lists every chat model on Multiverse Computing's API, with new ones added as released.
- Interface. Redesigned onboarding and model selection in version 2.10.0, plus "faster, more consistent responses".
- Maker claims. The March 2026 announcement says the compression technology shrinks models by up to 95% with a precision loss of 2-3%, and the 2.10 release notes call Quasar 438B "Europe's best-scoring AI model according to independent benchmarks by Artificial Analysis". Both are the maker's statements; PromptQuorum did not check them.
Privacy and Data Flow
The two stores describe data collection differently. The App Store privacy label says "Data Not Collected". The Google Play data-safety form says the app may collect name and email address (for app functionality and account management) and may share crash logs and approximate location with third parties for analytics; it adds that data is encrypted in transit and that deletion can be requested.
The privacy policy linked from the App Store is the company's general policy for its website and mobile apps, and it does not describe this app's on-device or API data flow separately.
📌Note: The app is closed source, so none of these statements can be checked in code, and PromptQuorum has not inspected network traffic. Anyone using the API models should assume the prompts leave the phone, and should confirm in the app which data stays on it.
Who Should Use It
- Phone users who want to try Multiverse Computing's models in one free app and compare several.
- Readers interested in model compression, the company's specialty, who accept that the on-device part is unverified.
- People who may need AI with weak connectivity, the use case the maker names, but only after confirming in the installed app that a model really runs offline.
What We Could Not Verify
- Hands-on behavior. The app was not installed, so answer quality, speed, battery use and offline operation were not tested.
- The on-device models in version 2.10. The listings name no local model, download size, storage need or device requirement.
- Routing and model choice. Whether the app picks between local and API models automatically, or the user does, is not stated for version 2.10.
- Accounts. The Google Play form lists name and email for account management; whether an account is required is not stated.
- Independent feedback. The US App Store listing shows no ratings, so no public user reports on the iPhone version were found.
- Source code and languages. No public repository was found, and the App Store lists English as the only language.
Competitors and Alternatives
LM Mini
- Platforms:
- iOS, iPadOS, macOS
- Price / license:
- Free + purchases / Closed source
- Key difference:
- On-device models plus your own LM Studio or Ollama server
Articles about LM Mini (1)
- LM Mini Review: iPhone Chat App for On-Device and Home-Server AIUpdated October 24, 2026
PocketPal AI
- Platforms:
- iOS, Android
- Price / license:
- Free / MIT
- Key difference:
- Open-source on-device chat with its own model library
Articles about PocketPal AI (10)
- PocketPal AI Review: Free, Open-Source On-Device ChatUpdated September 5, 2026
- Best Local AI Apps for iPhone in 2026 (Run LLMs Without WiFi)Updated October 23, 2026
- Loci AI Review (2026): Offline AI for iPhone, Android, iPad, Mac and WindowsUpdated October 23, 2026
- Private LLM Review: On-Device AI Chat for iPhone, iPad, and MacUpdated October 23, 2026
- Run a Local LLM on Your Tablet: iPad Pro M5, Galaxy Tab S10, OnePlus Pad 2 (2026)Updated October 23, 2026
- Best Local LLM Apps for Android in 2026: 6 Apps Compared on Real PhonesUpdated October 19, 2026
- Best Mobile LLM Models for Phones in 2026: Phi-4 Mini vs Gemma 3 vs SmolLMUpdated October 19, 2026
- Local AI Chat Pocket Review: Offline LLM and Image Chat for iPhone and iPadUpdated October 6, 2026
- PAIOS Review: Offline Gemini Nano Chat for AndroidUpdated October 5, 2026
- Oscilla Review: Free On-Device AI Chat for iPhoneUpdated October 4, 2026
+36 more not shown
Private Mind
- Platforms:
- iOS, Android
- Price / license:
- Free / MIT
- Key difference:
- Open-source offline chat with on-device document Q&A
Articles about Private Mind (2)
- Private Mind Review: Open-Source Offline AI Chat for iPhone and AndroidUpdated October 3, 2026
- Local AI Chat Pocket Review: Offline LLM and Image Chat for iPhone and iPadUpdated October 6, 2026
Also mentioned in:
- Frankly AI Review: iPhone Chat App With Downloadable On-Device ModelsUpdated October 24, 2026
- Haplo AI Review: Offline Chat and Image App for iPhone and MacUpdated October 24, 2026
- LM Mini Review: iPhone Chat App for On-Device and Home-Server AIUpdated October 24, 2026
- On-Device AI Translator Review: Offline LLM Translation for iPhoneUpdated October 24, 2026
- Llamatik Review: Free Open-Source Offline AI Chatbot for Android, iPhone and DesktopUpdated October 23, 2026
- MemoryAI Review: Free Offline AI Chat for iPhone and AndroidUpdated October 23, 2026
- Secret AI Review: Private Offline AI Chat for iPhone, Android and MacUpdated October 23, 2026
+7 more not shown
Enchanted
- Platforms:
- iOS, macOS
- Price / license:
- Free / Apache 2.0
- Key difference:
- Ollama-only client with no models of its own
Articles about Enchanted (4)
- Enchanted Review: Native macOS/iOS Ollama ClientUpdated September 5, 2026
- Best Local LLM Frontends in 2026: Open WebUI, Enchanted UI, and MoreUpdated October 23, 2026
- Local Chat Apps & Assistants Compared (2026): Desktop, Mobile, Self-Hosted, Assistants and RoleplayUpdated September 20, 2026
- BoltAI Review: Native Mac AI App, Ollama ReadyUpdated September 6, 2026
Also mentioned in:
- GPT4All Review: Free Offline AI Chat App by Nomic AIUpdated October 24, 2026
- OpenClient Review: Free Apple Chat App for Ollama and LiteLLMUpdated October 24, 2026
- LocalMind Review: Free Chat App for On-Device and Self-Hosted ModelsUpdated October 17, 2026
- Tina Review: iPhone Client for Ollama, llama.cpp and ComfyUIUpdated October 4, 2026
- Sidekick Review: A Free, Native macOS Local AI Chat AppUpdated September 19, 2026
- Ekorbia Review: Free Open-Source Local AI Desktop AppUpdated September 7, 2026
+7 more not shown
Competitor details change often; confirm each app's current price, license and platforms on its own listing.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is CompactifAI APP the same as the CompactifAI API?
No. The API is the maker's separate developer service for compressed models; the app is a free mobile client whose 2.10 release notes say it lists every chat model on that API.
Which languages does CompactifAI APP support?
The App Store lists English only. For Quasar 438B, the store text says English and Spanish.
How does it differ from open-source offline phone apps?
It is closed source and built around the maker's own models, whereas apps such as PocketPal AI and Private Mind are open source and let you download models from public libraries.
Verdict
CompactifAI APP is an actively updated, free phone client from a company that specializes in compressed models. Its limits are a closed-source codebase, current store text that describes API models but not offline use, an unlisted on-device model set and no independent tests. It suits readers who want to try Multiverse Computing's models; anyone who needs a fully on-device, open-source app should compare Private Mind or PocketPal AI.
Sources
- CompactifAI on the App Store — description, release notes, privacy label, size and compatibility, checked 24 October 2026.
- CompactifAI on Google Play — description, version, update date and download count, checked 24 October 2026.
- Google Play data-safety page — collected and shared data types, checked 24 October 2026.
- Multiverse Computing CompactifAI APP page — the maker's offline claim and region note.
- Launch announcement, 3 March 2026 — offline and cloud modes, query routing and compression figures (maker statements).
- Maker blog post, 10 November 2025 — on-device and cloud model demo (maker statements).
- Apple lookup data for CompactifAI — version, release dates, size and supported devices, checked 24 October 2026.
